Oisin Murphy Awarded Flat Jockey Of The Year

Oisin Murphy Records Further Success at the Stobart Lesters

After another terrific year on the flat, Oisin Murphy registered further success as he was crowned Flat Jockey of the Year at the Stobart Lesters on Friday evening in London.

Murphy's award was part of a brilliant evening hosted by leading racing presenters Luke Harvey and Hayley Moore where nine awards were presented at the prestigious annual event which took place at the Park Plaza at Westminster Bridge.

Having previously received recognition for the most winners in a calendar year on the flat, where he confirmed the Stobart Leading Rider, his status from other jockeys was only enhanced despite his second place finish to last year's winner Silvestre De Sousa in the domestic jockeys title.

For those who aren't aware, Murphy rode 198 winners domestically throughout 2018 but over 200 oversees wins if those are taken into account which gives you a brief idea of how well represented he is around the racing world. Moreover, he notched up a total of nine winners at Group 1 level which is fascinating in itself.

A total of nine awards were awarded throughout the evening which saw the likes of Richard Johnson receive the Stobart Jump Jockey of the Year for a third successive year, James Bowen awarded the Racing Excellence Conditional Jockey of the Year, and At The Races Jump Ride of the Year award for his ride on Raz de Maree in the Coral Welsh National in January.

On the flat, after an impressive season, Jason Watson won the Weatherbys Bank Apprentice Jockey of the Year award which only added to the great news he has receive in recent weeks having been confirmed number one rider for Roger Charlton next year and becoming Champion Apprentice.

The awards didn't end there with Nicola Currie riding out her claim with a grand total of forty-five victories on the flat and she went on to receive Great British Racing Lady Jockey of the Year.

Finally, Eoin Walsh, George Baker and Andrew Thornton were others to pick up notable awards which capped off a terrific night for the sport.

All in all the evening only improved the reputation racing is building, and Paul Struthers, a chief executive of the Professional Jockeys Association, said: "It was fantastic to see our younger members dominate proceedings and the amount of young talent in the weighing room bodes well for the future of the sport."

He also went on to add. "I know everyone in the room was delighted to see George and Andrew pick up their respective Special Recognition awards. Any of the nominees would have been worthy winners but I doubt anyone would have begrudged the result."

This makes it clear how far the sport has progressed and confirms the future is bright for upcoming jockeys looking to continue their development.

Below is a round-up of the Winners at the Stobart Lesters 2018

Lady Jockey of the Year Nicola Currie

Apprentice Jockey of the Year Jason Watson

Conditional Jockey of the Year James Bowen

Flat Jockey Special Recognition George Baker

Flat Ride of the Year Eoin Walsh on Storm Lightning at Wolverhampton on September 22

Jump Ride of the Year James Bowen on Raz de Maree at Chepstow on January 6

Jump Jockey Special Recognition Andrew Thornton

Flat Jockey of the Year Oisin Murphy

Jump Jockey of the Year Richard Johnson

Credit: Racing Post

Free Bets & Offers

🌟 Bet £5 & Get £30 in Bonuses 🌟
New Customers only. Deposit and place a £5 qualifying bet at odds of 2.00 or greater within 7 days of opening a new account; excludes cashed out bets. Receive 2x £10 Sports/Virtual Sports Free Bets, valid on set events only at odds 2.00 or greater, expires in 7 days, plus a £10 Casino Bonus, expires in 7 days. Wager the Casino Bonus 35x to withdraw winnings. Payment Cards only. Geographical Restrictions and T&Cs Apply. Please Gamble Responsibly
Claim Bonus
🙌 £20 Risk Free First Bet - Money Back in CASH! 🙌
New customers only. Minimum odds 1/5 (1.2). If you place a multiple at least one selection must meet the min odds requirement. Max £20 refund. Only deposits made using Cards or Applepay qualify. Qualifying bet must be placed and settled within 30 days of account opening. T&Cs apply.
Claim Bonus
🏆 £20 Risk Free First Bet - Money Back in CASH 🏆
New customers only, limited to one per person. If you’ve previously had a Paddy Power account, you will not qualify for the offer. Place your first bet on any Sportsbook market and if it loses we will refund your stake in CASH. Max refund for this offer is £/€20. Only deposits made using Cards or Paypal will qualify for this promotion. T&Cs apply.
Claim Bonus
🔴 Bet £5 & Get £20 FREE BETS! 🔴
Claim Bonus
Get up to £30 in FREE BETS! ☑️
New UK & Ireland customers only. Min Deposit: £10. First deposit matched up to £30. 1 x wagering at odds of 1.75+ to unlock Free Bet. Debit Card & PayPal deposits only. Terms Apply
Claim Bonus
⚡️Get up to £100 in Bet Credits⚡️
New Customers only. Up to £100* in Bet Credits. Sign up, deposit £5* or more to your account and bet365 will match your qualifying deposit in Bet Credits when you place qualifying bets to the same value and they are settled. Min odds/bet and payment method exclusions apply. Returns exclude Bet Credits stake. T&Cs, time limits & exclusions apply.
Claim Bonus
🟢 Money Back As Bonus Up To £40 If Your First Bet Loses + £10 Casino Bonus! 🟢
New customers only. 18+, BeGambleAware.org. Min deposit £10. Money back as bonus. Wagering requirements: Sportsbook 3x at min. odds of 1.40 (2/5), Casino 25x. Only one bonus can be used at a time, Sportsbook bonus must be wagered before using the Casino, unless the bonus has been forfeited. Bonus will expire after 7 days of opt-in.
Claim Bonus
When The Fun Stops. Stop.