The Dewhurst Stakes, held at Newmarket every October, is an intriguing race for two-year-old's. It is considered the premier juvenile race and usually contains some horses that go on to hit the frame in the following seasons Classics.

The 7f sprint was won last year by US Navy Flag for Ryan Moore and Aiden O'Brien, and the first clear trend is to acknowledge that this partnership has won the race for the last three seasons. O'Brien has also won the face on five occasions in the last nine seasons.

The race has always been good for favourites and the market principals have won this race seven times in the last twelve seasons.

With the race being for two-year-old's experience is obviously at a premium. However eleven of the previous twelve winners had four runs prior to running in the Dewhurst so it is important to focus on those who have been busy.

Not only that, no horse in the last twelve years won this race to remove their maiden tag. If your selection has never won before, avoid it. Ideally that victory would obviously be in Group Company and eight of the last twelve winners had achieved this feat.

Course form is not to pivotal and nine of the last twelve runners were making their debut run at the track. Distance form, however, is crucial. Eight of the last twelve winners at won over 7f at a two-year-old.

Whatever happens, the winner will most likely focus on next year's 2000 Guineas with many going on to win the famous Classic. A notable example of this was Frankel, winner of the Dewhurst in 2010.