JNwine.com Champion Chase trends

JNwine.com Champion Chase

The JNwine.com Champion Chase is the first Grade 1 of the new National Hunt season in Ireland, open to horses aged five years or older. It is typically run at Down Royal over a distance spanning 3 miles where there are fifteen fences to be jumped.

The race was established just prior to the turn of the millennium back in 1999, where it was initially contested over 3 miles and 1 furlong. The last furlong was cut a year later, and was awarded Grade 1 status in 2002. Its sponsor – JNwine.com, have sponsored this race from the getgo.

This race - despite only having a small history, has help construct several horses preparations, on their way to becoming champions, and in some cases - legends.

Last year, Outlander became the first horse aged nine or older to win the JNwine.com Champion Chase since the great Kauto Star in 2010. It got the season off to a flyer for young jockey Jack Kennedy, who went onto have another successful campaign, including a hat-trick of wins at the Cheltenham Festival.


With the Charlie Hall Chase usually run around the same time as the JNwine.com Champion Chase, the field for the latter is usually made up of Irish recruits, however Paul Nicholls has saddled four of the last 16 winners. Outlander's win last year made it three wins for Gordon Elliott in this race.

Like with any graded race, course and distance goes a long way. Seven of the last 16 winners had raced at Down Royal before, with 12 of the last 16 having won a race at least 3 miles over fences before. Thirteen of the last sixteen winners had won at least five times over fences before, with nine of the last sixteen arriving here with Grade 1 Chase to their name.

Outlander - now ten years old, joined another 11 winners of the last 16 who were aged eight or older when winning the JNwine.com Champion Chase. 11 of the 16 had finished 1st or 2nd in their last race, but having said that, 6 of the last 10 were having their first run of the season.

Seven of the last 16 outings have been won by the favourite, including 2/11f Don Cossack three seasons ago. Ten of the last 16 had returned at 9/2 or shorter in the betting.

Popular rider Ruby Walsh also has a good record here, with four wins to his name. This year's market is dominated by horses owned by Gigginstown House Stud.

Previous Winners:

2017 – OUTLANDER (16/1)

2016 – VALSEUR LIDO (2/1 fav)

2015 – DON COSSACK (2/11 fav)

2014 – ROAD TO RICHES (9/2)

2013 – ROI du MEE (12/1)

2012 – KAUTO STONE (4/1)

2011 – QUITO de la ROQUE (11/4 fav)

2010 – KAUTO STAR (4/7 fav)

2009 – THE LISTENER (7/1)

2008 – KAUTO STAR (2/5 fav)

2007 – TARANIS (10/11 fav)