Pertemps Final Race Card

Runners not available yet

Pertemps Final Tips

This is where all of our tips will be for the Pertemps Final , we also have you covered with daily tips

Second race of St Patricks Day

The Pertemps final is the second race on St Patricks Day and the first of the handicaps. The Grade 3 handicap hurdle is the final of a series of Pertemps qualifier races that are staged through the season in order to qualify for the race.

There are eight qualifying races in total, with horses often required to finish in certain places to confirm their place in the race.

The race is ran over a distance of three miles and there is 12 hurdles for the runners to negotiate and there is prize money of £56,000 to the winner.

History of the Pertemps Final

The race was first introduced to the festival in 1974, has a direct replacement for a previous handicap hurdle race, the George Duller.

When the first was introduced in 1974, Bookmaker Coral took the naming rights and in turn, all the way until 1993, the race was named the Coral Golden hurdle final.

Coral gave up the naming rights in in 1993 and the race went through various sponsors before eventually being snapped up by Pertemps who have sponsored the race since 2003 and will continue to do so in 2020.

The race was always known as a listed handicap race but was then promoted to a Grade three handicap in 2018.

Recent years

Barr Geraghty rode favourite Sire Du Berlais to victory in the 2019 race, giving Gordon Elliot a second successive victory in the race.

It was also Geraghty’s second win the race after winning his first on Inching Closer back in 2003 and it puts him one behind the record winner of the race, Davey Russell who won the race three years running from 2016 to 2018, including two wins for trainer Pat Kelly. Russell won the races with the following:

Davy Russell:

Mall Dini (2016)

Presenting Percy (2017)

Delta Work (2018)

Mall Dini and Presenting Percy give Pat Kelly two successive victories, which Jonjo O’Neill done in 2003 and 2004. O’Neill has four wins in the race, more than any other trainer but hasn’t won it since 2013. He’s trained the following horses to success:

Jonjo O’Neill:

Danny Connors (1991)

Inching Closer (2003)

Creon (2004)

Holywell (2013)

O’Neill can obviously prepare horses for the race so anything he does have in 2020 will be no doubt be worth paying attention too.

Gordon Elliot has won the last two races and before that it was Pat Kelly who had two consecutive successes so with the pair splitting the last four races between them, it’ll be worth noting anything the pair do field, particularly if any of the trainers use Davey Russell to ride one of there mounts.