Turners Novices’ Chase Race Card

Turners Novices' Chase Runners And Entries 2023

The runners & entries for the Turners Novices' Chase for this year's Cheltenham Festival can all be found below.

This is a full list of entries, but there will be declarations 5 days before the race, and final declarations 48 hours before.

Turners Novices' Chase (Grade 1) (Registered As The Golden Miller) (GBB Race)

Harry Cobden

Stage Star

Age: 7
Weight: 11.5
OR: 152
Harry Cobden
Paul Nicholls
led, not fluent 4 out, pushed along and headed after 3 out, good jump and led again 2 out, soon ridden, kept on strongly and went clear run-in
Adam Wedge


Age: 7
Weight: 11.5
OR: 142
Adam Wedge
L J Morgan
prominent, not fluent 3 out, soon pushed along to lead, headed and ridden 2 out, good jump last, hung left run-in, kept on but no match for winner
Davy Russell

Mighty Potter

Age: 6
Weight: 11.5
OR: 162
Davy Russell
Gordon Elliott
midfield, headway before 5 out, pushed along and outpaced home turn, mistake 2 out, slightly hampered and switched right approaching last, ridden and hung badly right run-in, went third final strides (jockey said gelding hung right in the closing stages; vet reported gelding lost his left fore shoe)

Turners Novices Chase Tips

This is where all of our tips will be for the Turners Novices Chase , we also have you covered with daily tips.

Sorry, no tips are available today!

First race of St Patricks Day

The Marsh Novices’ Chase is the opening race on St Patricks Day, which is usually one of the busiest days of the festival and often this can make for a loud atmosphere.

The race is ran over 2 miles and 4 furlongs, and is the first race of the week to be ran on the new Cheltenham course.

There is a total of 17 fences for the runners, who must be aged five or older to compete in the race.

There is prize money of £88,000 to the winner, with the race being of Grade One status.

History of the Turners Novices’ Chase

The race was only introduced in 2011, with much ask for a shorter novice chase from the RSA that takes place on the day before.

In 2011, the first sponsor of the race was Jewson, who transferred their sponsorship from another race in the festival to become Grade one sponsors.

The race however didn’t reach Grade one status until 2014, with the 2015 running the first to be ran as a Grade one.

Jewsons continued their sponsorship of the race until 2014 and when the race became a Grade One, they were taken over by insurance brokers JLT, who still sponsor the race to this day and many often refer to the race as simply the ‘JLT’.

Recent years

In an epic battle in 2019, Barry Geragthy rode Defi du Sceuil to victory for Phillip Hobbs and JP McManus to end four successive victories for Ireland.

It was Geraghty’s first win in the race, with Ruby Walsh having won the three in a row before Jack Kennedy’s success in 2018. Walsh’s three victories mean he’s the outright leader for race wins, he’s won the race with the following horses:

Ruby Walsh:

Vautour (2015)

Black Hercules (2016)

Yorkhill (2017)

Walsh’s three victories in the race all came in successive years for Willie Mullins’, who in the recent years has made the race is own and spearheaded the Irish domination. Whist he hasn’t had the winner in the last two years, he still has notched up four victors in race. That’s the most impressive record amongst the trainers, with no other trainer having won the race more than once. Mullins has won the race with the following:

Willie Mullins:

Sir Des Champs (2012)

Vautour (2015)

Black Hercules (2016)

Yorkhill (2017)

Obviously, this suggests it’s worth paying close attention to anything that Mullins does field this year. There might not be Ruby Walsh in 2020 but Paul Townend will most likely be riding Mullin’s main hope. Other Irish challengers could be from Gordon Elliot and he will also warrant respect, with Irish novice chasers perhaps being ahead of the British recently.

Turners Novices Chase Winners

Year Winner Age SP Trainer Jockey
2022 Bob Olinger 7 6/5 Henry de Bromhead Rachael Blackmore
2021 Chantry House 7 9/1 Nicky Henderson Nico de Boinville
2020 Samcro 8 4/1 Gordon Elliott Davy Russell
2019 Defi Du Seuil 6 3/1 Philip Hobbs Barry Geraghty
2018 Shattered Love 7 4/1 Gordon Elliott Jack Kennedy
2017 Yorkhill 7 6/4 Willie Mullins Ruby Walsh
2016 Black Hercules 7 4/1 Willie Mullins Ruby Walsh
2015 Vautour 6 6/4 Willie Mullins Ruby Walsh
2014 Taquin Deu Seuil 7 7/1 Jonjo O’Neill Tony McCoy
2013 Benefficient 7 20/1 Tony Martin Bryan Cooper

Turners Novices Chase FAQs

Finding Tips For The Turners Novices' Chase

If you’re looking for our thoughts on who you should back in The Turners Novices' Chase take a look at our Day 3 Tips page to see everything, we’re backing for this race at the Cheltenham Festival.

You can also see all the latest odds for this race on our Turners Novices' Chase Odds page allowing you to see which bookmakers are offering the best price on each horse in the race.