Fulke Walwyn Kim Muir Challenge Cup Race Card

Runners not available yet

Fulke Walwyn Kim Muir Challenge Cup Tips

This is where all of our tips will be for the Fulke Walwyn Kim Muir Challenge Cup , we also have you covered with daily tips

Final race of St Patricks Day

The Fulke Walwyn Kim Muir Challenge Cup is handicap chase that is run over 3 miles and 2 furlongs, with 21 fences for the horses.

It is another race that is especially for amateur jockeys and is open to horses aged five and above. The race is one of the lower in terms of prize money at the festival, with the winner receiving £41,000.

History of the Fulke Walwyn Kim Muir Challenge Cup

The race was found in 1946 and added to the festival, under the title of the Kim Muir amateur riders’ steeplechase. The race has always been known as the Kim Muir in tribute to a cavalry solider that lost his life in World War two. Kim Muir was the brother to Mrs Evan Williams who introduced the race to the festival and in turn named it after her brother.

The race has never been sponsored and was known as the Kim Muir until 1991, when Fule Walwyn was added onto the title. Walwyn was a successful trainer, who won 40 races at the Cheltenham festival, so the race is unique in that it does not have any sponsorship and is in tribute to two different people.

Recent years

Top amateur jockey Derek O’Connor guided Any Second Now to victory for Ted Walsh and JP McManus in 2019. Despite him being one of the more highly regarded amateur jockeys, it was his first win the race and he still has a long way to go to catch Jamie Codd, who has somewhat made the race his own, with four wins, more than any other jockey. Codd’s successes have come with the following horses:

Jamie Codd:

Character Building (2009)

Junior (2011)

The Package (2015

Cause of Causes (2016)

There is lots of variety in more recent years in terms of the trainers winning the race, with it being fairly evenly shared about although both Donald McCain and David Pipe have each won two renewals in the last 12 years and Nicky Henderson was also a two-time winner between 2002 and 2005.

However, the late Fred Rimell has the best record in the race, having won it on four occasions between 1951 and 1977 and for the minute his record is intact. Rimell’s success came with four different horses that are listed below: Fred Rimell:

Mighty Fine (1951)

Gay Monarch II (1955)

Nicolaus Silver (1961)

Double Negative (1977)

Ahead of the 2020 race, jockey bookings will be an important thing to keep an eye on. As mentioned, Jamie Codd is the most successful jockey in the race with four victories including two successive wins in 2015 and 2016, the last year he won it. Codd will no doubt have another strong ride this year and it’ll be worth closely looking at his mount.

In terms of trainers, whilst it usually a variety, it could note paying attention to both David Pipe and Donald McMain, both of whom as mentioned have had more than one success in the race since 2007.