The Queen Elizabeth II Stakes Trends

The Queen Elizabeth II Stakes Trends

The Queen Elizabeth II Stakes – held at Ascot, is a Group 1 flat horse race open to horses aged three years or older. Run over the straight mile, it is an imperative part of British Champions Day, as it crowns the best miler in Europe. Over the years’, we have spotted some trends that might help in your selections for this year’s renewal, set to take place this coming Saturday.

Repeat Winners

Firstly – repeat winners. Only two horses have won regained their crown in the QEII; Brigadier Gerard in 1971/72, and Rose Bowl in 1975/76. This year, there will not be a horse seeking a second success, as the reigning Champion – Persuasive, was retired after last year’s win. One thing we know, is there will be a first-time winner.

Successful Trainers

Saeed Bin Suroor and Godolphin usually hold a strong hand in this race, and have both trained and owned a record five winners respectively. John Gosden and Aiden O’Brien have dominated this race more recently and hold a strong hand this year. The French usually have a crucial say in this race. Recoletos, is currently the market leader, and will look to follow in the steps of Charm Spirit and Solow who won the race in 2014 and 2015 respectively for French trainers.

Favourites and Youngsters

Speaking of the great Solow, he has been the only winner aged five or above since 2007, which would suggest the younger generation have a much better chance. Horses with course form to their name also go better than others – particularly over Ascot’s straight mile. 7 out of the last 12 had at least one previous run at Ascot, and 5 out of the last 12 had at least one previous win at Ascot. Favourites are usually in the frame, with six of the last twelve favourites going on to win the race. Coincidentally, in 11 of the last 12 renewals, the market leader has finished in the top three of the betting.

9 out of the last 12 winners had a rating of 120 or higher, and the same number had at least one win in a Group 1 race to their name. 10 out of the last 12 winners had at least 4 runs that season, with only one not having previously won the same season. 5 of the last six winners have also come from stall 6 or higher.

Good luck in whatever your backing in the Queen Elizabeth II Stakes at Ascot on Saturday.