Ladbrokes Trophy Trends

Ladbrokes Trophy

The Ladbrokes Trophy - formerly known to many racing fans as the Hennessy Gold Cup, is a Grade 3 Handicap, run at Newbury over a distance of 3m2f, where there are 21 fences to be jumped.

The event was established back in 1957 as the Hennessy Cognac Gold Cup, initially staged at Cheltenham Racecourse.

The race has been won by some true greats in recent years, which has seen nine horses in total progressing onto win the Cheltenham Gold Cup; the most recent of these being the Colin Tizzard-trained Native River. Mill House, Arkle, One Man and Denman are other notable winners of the past.

The Oliver Sherwood-trained Many Clouds also became the first horse to win both the Hennessy Gold Cup and the Grand National in 2014 and 2015 respectively.


With the Willie Mullins-trained Kemboy unable to make the journey from Ireland due to adverse weather conditions, it leaves a field of 13 - the smallest field for the race this century, to go for the Ladbrokes Trophy at Newbury on Saturday. Less on quantity does not result in lack of quality, as the likes of Elegant Escape, Thomas Patrick and Ms Parfois all go for the Grade 3 feature.

The first thing to consider is age, and experience. 14 of the last 15 winners have been aged eight or younger, with 11 of those being six or seven. You have to go all the way back to 1981 to find a winner aged 10 or older.

13 of the last 15 winners had won a chase race over at least 3m before, with one less having had a run at Newbury - eight of which over fences. 11 of the last 15 winners had won a Grade 3 or better class chase race before coming here, with two less having had a prep run in the same season, with the same number winning last time out.

Like any handicap, the weight carried by the horses is of high importance. An incredible stat shows that exactly half of the winners since 1957 - since the race's inauguration, have carried either side of 11st. However, 11 of the last 15 winners have carried 11st or more, suggesting in recent times, a better class of horse has been winning this race. Denman incredibly carried 11st12 twice to victory in this race, proving it can be done.

Paul Nicholls historically has a good record in the race, training three winners in the past fifteen years, with Nicky Henderson training two winners - both coming in the last five years.

Betting wise, a third of favourites have won in the last fifteen renewals, with twelve winners in total returning at 10/1 or shorter in the betting. This year, we will probably not know who is going to be sent off the market leader until the flag falls, as a number of horses are currently vying for favouritism.

Eight of the last ten winners were officially rated 147 or higher.

Previous Winners:

2017- Total Recall

2016 – Native River

2015 – Smad Place

2014 – Many Clouds

2013 – Triolo D'Alene

2012 – Bobs Worth

2011 – Carruthers

2010 – Diamond Harry

2009 – Denman

2008 – Madison Du Berlais

2007 – Denman

2006 – State Of Play