TWE Awards - International Horse Of The Year – Winx

TWE Awards - International Horse Of The Year – Winx

As the year of 2018 draws to a close, here at The Winners Enclosure, we are handing out our a very own specialist awards, recognising the achievements of some of racing's best performers of the season.

Our next award, is the International Horse Of The Year, and this is going to be awarded to the horse we think has stolen the international stage worldwide. Again, there were many in with a shot at this hotly-contested prize, and the nominees included Enable – winner of our Horse Of The Year prize, who won races at both France and America this year.

Accelerate was in contention for the award, having stormed home in the Breeders’ Cup Classic last month, along with Mendelssohn, Gun Runner and Beauty Generation – who lines up in the Hong Kong Cup this weekend.

None of them can be deemed on terms with our outstanding winner – who is the Australia Superstar - Winx.

Chris Waller’s top-quality mare won seven races this calendar year, including a record fourth Cox Plate, lengthening her unbeaten record to 29 races.

There had been doubts over her status as one of the world’s best, when presenter Matt Chapman went over to Australia a few weeks back to witness her fourth success at Moonee Valley, claiming she was beating fairly-moderate horses.

This brings into play the overall rating system and whether she should be on terms with Cracksman at 130. However, you cannot dismiss that any horse to win almost thirty times in a row, and to still be rolling in the top band of racing at the age of seven, is some accomplishment and one incredible feat.

She is a true flagbearer for Australia and has formed an incredible story down under. Everyone from Britain, and indeed the rest of the world for that matter, would love her connections to be brave enough to send her away from her homeland, to clash with some of the world’s true best. It is unlikely we will get our wish, but for now, she a standout winner of the 2018 TWE International Horse Of The Year.

Congratulations to Chris Waller, Hugh Bowman, and the Magic Bloodstock Racing.