Desert Orchid Chase Trends

Desert Orchid Chase

The Desert Orchid Chase is a Grade 2 National Hunt steeplechase, run at Kempton Park on day two of their Winter Carnival. It is run over a distance of about 2 miles and during its running there are twelve fences to be jumped.

The race was inaugurated back in 2006, named in memory of the popular-grey Desert Orchid, who died a few weeks earlier. Desert Orchid is another who won Kempton's most famous contest: the King George VI Chase, four times between 1986 and 1990. His ashes were scattered at the racecourse on the day of this race's inaugural running.

The event replaced the Castleford Chase in the National Hunt calendar as a Grade 2 chase over 2 miles, and is a key indicator for the candidates ahead of the Champion Chase at Cheltenham in March.


As is not the case with novice contests, this race is no stranger to repeat successes. Alan King's Voy Por Ustedes won the first ever two renewals of this contest in 2006 and 2007. More recently, Special Tiara won the race in 2016 for the second time, having previously scored two years prior.

In terms of the form guide, four of the last 11 winners won on their last appearance before the Desert Orchid Chase , with 9 of those victors running within the last 48 days. 8 out of the 11 winners had at least one previous run at Kempton, with just two less actually winning at the Sunbury venue before.

Nine of the last 11 winners had at least 7 previous runs over two miles, with one less having achieved five previous career wins over the distance; ten of the last eleven having scored in three chasing contests.

In terms of graded affairs, nine of the 11 winners had at least one previous win in a grade one, two or three.

Eight of the last 11 winners have been aged between 6 and 8, with one more rated 157 or higher. 8 of the last 11 favourites have won, with two extra coming from the top 3 in the betting beforehand.

Previous Winners:

2006 - Voy Por Ustedes

2007 - Voy Por Ustedes

2008 - Fiepes Shuffle

2009 - Petit Robin

2011 - Finian's Rainbow

2012 - Sanctuaire

2013 - Sire de Grugy

2014 - Special Tiara

2015 - Sprinter Sacre

2016 - Special Tiara

2017 - Politologue

Free Bets & Offers

🌟 Bet £5 & Get £30 in Bonuses 🌟
New Customers only. Deposit and place a £5 qualifying bet at odds of 2.00 or greater within 7 days of opening a new account; excludes cashed out bets. Receive 2x £10 Sports/Virtual Sports Free Bets, valid on set events only at odds 2.00 or greater, expires in 7 days, plus a £10 Casino Bonus, expires in 7 days. Wager the Casino Bonus 35x to withdraw winnings. Payment Cards only. Geographical Restrictions and T&Cs Apply. Please Gamble Responsibly
Claim Bonus
🙌 £20 Risk Free First Bet - Money Back in CASH! 🙌
New customers only. Minimum odds 1/5 (1.2). If you place a multiple at least one selection must meet the min odds requirement. Max £20 refund. Only deposits made using Cards or Applepay qualify. Qualifying bet must be placed and settled within 30 days of account opening. T&Cs apply.
Claim Bonus
🏆 £20 Risk Free First Bet - Money Back in CASH 🏆
New customers only, limited to one per person. If you’ve previously had a Paddy Power account, you will not qualify for the offer. Place your first bet on any Sportsbook market and if it loses we will refund your stake in CASH. Max refund for this offer is £/€20. Only deposits made using Cards or Paypal will qualify for this promotion. T&Cs apply.
Claim Bonus
🔴 Bet £5 & Get £20 FREE BETS! 🔴
Claim Bonus
Get up to £30 in FREE BETS! ☑️
New UK & Ireland customers only. Min Deposit: £10. First deposit matched up to £30. 1 x wagering at odds of 1.75+ to unlock Free Bet. Debit Card & PayPal deposits only. Terms Apply
Claim Bonus
⚡️Get up to £100 in Bet Credits⚡️
New Customers only. Up to £100* in Bet Credits. Sign up, deposit £5* or more to your account and bet365 will match your qualifying deposit in Bet Credits when you place qualifying bets to the same value and they are settled. Min odds/bet and payment method exclusions apply. Returns exclude Bet Credits stake. T&Cs, time limits & exclusions apply.
Claim Bonus
🟢 Money Back As Bonus Up To £40 If Your First Bet Loses + £10 Casino Bonus! 🟢
New customers only. 18+, Min deposit £10. Money back as bonus. Wagering requirements: Sportsbook 3x at min. odds of 1.40 (2/5), Casino 25x. Only one bonus can be used at a time, Sportsbook bonus must be wagered before using the Casino, unless the bonus has been forfeited. Bonus will expire after 7 days of opt-in.
Claim Bonus
When The Fun Stops. Stop.