Queen Mother Champion Chase Race Card

Betway Queen Mother Champion Chase Runners And Entries 2023

You can find the runners & entries for the Betway Queen Mother Champion Chase for this year's Cheltenham Festival down below.

As a reminder, this is a full list of entries, but 5 days before the race there will be further declarations, and final declarations 48 hours before.

Betway Queen Mother Champion Chase (Grade 1) (GBB Race)

Paul Townend


Age: 9
Weight: 11.7
OR: 175
Paul Townend
W P Mullins
travelled strongly, jumped right on occasions, prominent, disputed lead 6th, good jump 4 out, mistake 3 out, soon led clearly going easily, edged left home turn, clear when another good jump last, kept on well run-in, impressive
Rachael Blackmore

Captain Guinness

Age: 8
Weight: 11.7
OR: 159
Rachael Blackmore
Henry De Bromhead
took keen hold, in touch with leaders on inner, going easily 3 out, carried left and hampered rival home turn, soon went second, 2 lengths down when not fluent 2 out, soon no chance with winner, ridden and kept on run-in
Harry Cobden


Age: 9
Weight: 11.7
OR: 169
Harry Cobden
Paul Nicholls
took keen hold, in touch with leaders, bad mistake and lost ground 4 out, well held but kept on from 2 out, pecked on landing last, pushed out and went modest third final 110yds, did well in the circumstances

Queen Mother Champion Chase Tips

This is where all of our tips will be for the Queen Mother Champion Chase , we also have you covered with daily tips.

Sorry, no tips are available today!

Fourth race of ladies day

The Champion Chase is one of the most prestigious races in the National Hunt calendar and is the fourth race on ladies day making it the third Grade 1 contest on the day.

The race is ran over 2 miles on the old Cheltenham Chase course, where there is 13 fences to overcome.

The race has a massive reputation and is symbolised by the huge winnings on offer, with £225,000 prize money going to the winner.

History of the Queen Mother Champion Chase

The race was added to the Cheltenham Festival in 1959 and was originally titled as the National Hunt Two Mile Champion Chase.

The race stayed known as that until 1980, where it was then named in tribute to the Queen Mother due to her 80th birthday. The decision was made due to the Queen Mother’s continued support for national hunt racing as she was a prominent owner on the national hunt scene.

For the next 27 years, the race was simply known as the Queen Mother Champion Chase and it wasn’t until 2008 that the race was open for sponsorship. The first sponsor of the race was Seasons Holidays before it became SportingBet Champion Chase from 2011 to 2013. Bet Victor named the 2014 race before current sponsors Betway took over, for it to be known as the Betway Queen Mother Chase.

Recent years

Altior emerged victorious for Nicky Henderson and Nico de Boinville in 2019, he followed up his 2018 success to become a double winner of the race. He may well be back in 2020, a third win will put him join top with Badsworth Boy who won the race back to back from 1983 to 1985.

Henderson himself is already the record trainer in the race, saving saddled the winner on six occasions with four different horses, with five of his wins coming in the last 8 renewals of the race with the following:

Nicky Henderson:

Remittance Man (1992)

Finian's Rainbow (2012)

Sprinter Sacre (2013, 2016)

Altior (2018, 2019)

Should Altior return in 2020 to spearhead Henderson’s attack, he’ll be parented by De Boinville who is his regular rider and he’ll be going for his fourth win in the race after winning three times in the last four years however still has to get to Barry Geraghty, who has been successful in the race on six occasions, with the following horses:

Barry Geraghty:

Moscow Flyer (2003, 2005)

Big Zeb (2010)

Finian's Rainbow (2012)

Sprinter Sacre (2013

The Champion Chase has been a race to follow the English horses in the most recent times, with the likes of Willie Mullins struggling - this is one of the Cheltenham prizes that he’s still yet to win.

British trainers have won seven of the last nine renewals, with the other two both won by Henry de Bromhead. It will be worth checking out anything he sends over for 2020 as well as who leads Nicky Henderson’s attack on the race.

Queen Mother Champion Chase Winners

Year Winner Age SP Trainer Jockey
2022 Energumene 8 5/2 Willie Mullins Paul Townend
2021 Put The Kettle On 7 17/2 Henry de Bromhead Aidan Coleman
2020 Politologue 9 6/1 Paul Nicholls Harry Skelton
2019 Altior 9 4/11 Nicky Henderson Nico de Boinville
2018 Altior 8 Evens Nicky Henderson Nico De Boinville
2017 Special Tiara 10 11/1 Henry de Bromhead Noel Fehily
2016 Sprinter Sacre 10 5/1 Nicky Henderson Nico de Boinville
2015 Dodging Bullets 7 9/2 Paul Nicholls Sam Twiston-Davies
2014 Sire De Grugy 8 11/4 Gary Moore Jamie Moore
2013 Sprinter Sacre 7 1/4 Nicky Henderson Barry Geraghty

Queen Mother Champion Chase FAQs

Finding Tips For The Queen Mother Champion Chase

If you’re looking for our thoughts on who you should back in the Queen Mother Champion Chase take a look at our Day 2 Tips page to see everything, we’re backing for this race at the Cheltenham Festival.

You can also see all the latest odds for this race on our Queen Mother Champion Chase Odds page allowing you to see which bookmakers are offering the best price on each horse in the race.