How Have Epsom Derby Winners Fared In The Irish Derby?

How Have Epsom Derby Winners Fared In The Irish Derby?

Anthony Van Dyck will bid to become the nineteenth horse in history to do the iconic English/Irish Derby, three years after it was last completed by Dermot Weld's Harzand in 2016.

Eighteen winners to-date, it appears the quick-fire brace was most common in and around the 1970's and 80's, with only five horses winning both contests in the 21st century.

The first horse to win both was the Fred McCabe-trained Orby in 1907, but then there was a big gap until Santa Claus repeated the feat in 1964 for Mick Rogers.

They were followed by triple crown winner Nijinsky in 1970, Grundy five years later in 1975, and The Minstrel in 1977.

Shirley Heights was the first of the three in the next four years to do the double in 1978, before Troy (1979), and the legendary Shergar (1981) added themselves to the record books soon after.

Shahrastani (1986), Kahyasi (1988), Generous (1991) and Commander in Chief (1993) all did the Epsom-Curragh Derby in the months of June and July, before the great Sinndar won both in the year 2000, and went onto become the only horse to win the Arc later in the season.

Aidan O'Brien is responsible for four of the last five dual winners, with Galileo taking control in 2001, and High Chaparral soon joining him a year later in 2002.

Aidan's son Joseph guided both Camelot (2012) and Australia (2014) to victory in both classics - both horses now prominent sires in horse racing.

As mentioned Harzand was the most recent horse to do the double two years after Australia, and the door is open for Anthony Van Dyck to join this elite list.

After his close finish at Epsom, he will face similar rivals in the second Irish Classic for colts.

Madhmoon and stablemate Broome - narrow second's and third's on the Downs, remain in tact in the 47-runner field; which is due to reduce when the final declarations are made.

Sir Dragonet is the one notable absentee, with both Epsom third Japan and sixth Circus Maximus boosting the form with separate victories at Royal Ascot last week and are unlikely to make the trip.

Last year, it was impossible for the double to be recorded with Masar injured following his Epsom assignment; but he was heading to the Eclipse at Sandown instead, leaving Latrobe to land the spoils for Joseph O'Brien as a trainer.

In 2017, Wings Of Eagles was a 40/1 winner in Surrey for Padraig Beggy, so Ryan Moore jumped on at the Curragh hoping to land the double but it was stablemate Capri that took Classic honours.

Anthony Van Dyck is currently 6/4 to win the race, closely attended by Madhmoon and Broome at 3/1 to reverse the form.

The Dubai Duty Free Irish Derby will take place this Saturday (29th) afternoon at the Curragh, Ireland.