Stayers Hurdle Race Card

Paddy Power Stayers' Hurdle Runners And Entries 2023

Below you can find the runners & entries for the Paddy Power Stayers' Hurdle for this year's Cheltenham Festival.

This is a full list of entries, but there are further declarations 5 days before the race, and then final declarations 48 hours before.

Paddy Power Stayers' Hurdle (Grade 1) (GBB Race)

Mark Walsh

Sire Du Berlais

Age: 11
Weight: 11.7
OR: 152
Mark Walsh
Gordon Elliott
midfield, mistake 5 out, headway on inner just before 2 out, ridden after 2 out, pressed leaders approaching last, led final 110yds, kept on well
Rex Dingle

Dashel Drasher

Age: 10
Weight: 11.7
OR: 153
Rex Dingle
Jeremy Scott
prominent, mistake 5 out, led approaching last, jumped left last, soon ridden, drifted left run-in, headed final 110yds, drifted right towards finish, just held second, finished 2nd, placed 3rd
Davy Russell


Age: 6
Weight: 11.7
OR: 163
Davy Russell
Gordon Elliott
held up in rear, steady headway from 3 out, not fluent 2 out, switched left then ridden and pressed leader approaching last, switched right final 110yds, kept on well, finished 3rd, placed 2nd
Danny Mullins

Flooring Porter

Age: 8
Weight: 11.7
OR: 162
Danny Mullins
Gavin Cromwell
soon led, set good pace, clear before 5 out, reduced lead 3 out, mistake 2 out, ridden and headed approaching last, hung left run-in, no extra final 110yds

Stayers Hurdle Tips

This is where all of our tips will be for the Stayers Hurdle , we also have you covered with daily tips.

Sorry, no tips are available today!
Sorry, no tips are available today!

Fourth race of St Patricks Day

The Stayers hurdle is the fourth race on St Patricks Day. It is a Grade One staying hurdle that is run on the new course at the Cheltenham.

The race is run over three miles and there is a total of 12 hurdles for the horses to contend with. The horses must be aged at least four to take part in the race.

The prize money on offer to the winner is £182,000, for the biggest long-distance hurdle race in the National hunt season.

History of the Stayers Hurdle

The Stayers Hurdle goes all the way back to 1912, making it one of the oldest races of the festival. The first running at Prestbury Park was titled the Stayers Selling Hurdle, a far cry from the Grade One it is now. The winner was sold for £50 after the race.

The race struggled to hold down a regular position within the Cheltenham Festival, with it not run between 1928 and 1929 and then 1938 and 1939.

In 1946, it then replaced the Spa Hurdle, which was a two-mile race however retained the name until 1972, when it was renamed the Stayers Hurdle and was sponsored by Lloyds Bank.

The race since has had various sponsors. Waterford Crystal had a 12 year hold between 1978 and 1990 before they handed over to Bonusprint who named the race until 2004. When betting company Ladbrokes took over the sponsorship, they also renamed the race the World Hurdle however there sponsorship ended in 2015.

Ryanair sponsored the race in 2016 before in 2017 the race went back to being known as the Stayers Hurdle and was sponsored by Sun Bets. Last year was the first year the race was sponsored by Sun Racing.

Recent years

Hot favourite Paisley Park was delivered brilliantly by Aidan Coleman to win the 2019 race in a famous victory and ended Willie Mullin’s mini dominance of the race having won it the two years prior.

However, prior to this, one horse dominated the race in the form of Big Bucks. The Paul Nicholls trained horse won four back to back renewals of the race between 2009 and 2012 and made the race his own. In doing so, he gave Paul Nicholls four victories that make him the most successful trainer in the race, with Ruby Walsh riding all four, meaning he is the most successful jockey to ride in the race.

Ruby Walsh:

Big Buck's (2009, 2010, 2011, 2012)

Nichols Canyon (2017)

Paul Nicholls:

Big Buck's (2009, 2010, 2011, 2012)

The 2020 race will likely see 2019 winner Paisley Park return to defend his crown and attempt to join in greats by doing so and should he turn up, he will warrant his position at the top of the market.

As well as Paisley Park, Paul Nicholls’ record in the race shows he can prepare horses for this race whilst Willie Mullins has won two of the last three and deserves a close look too.

Stayers Hurdle Winners

Year Winner SP Trainer Jockey
2022 Flooring Porter 4/1 Gavin Cromwell Danny Mullins
2021 Flooring Porter 12/1 Gavin Cromwell Danny Mullins
2020 Lisnagar Oscar 50/1 Rebecca Curtis Adam Wedge
2019 Paisley Park 11/8 Emma Lavelle Aidan Coleman
2018 Penhill 12/1 Willie Mullins Paul Townend
2017 Nichols Canyon 10/1 Willie Mullins Ruby Walsh
2016 Thistlecrack Evs Colin Tizzard Tom Scudamore
2015 Cole Harden 14/1 Warren Greatrex Gavin Sheehan
2014 More Of That 15/2 Jonjo O’Neill Barry Geraghty
2013 Solwhit 17/2 Charles Byrnes Paul Carberry

Stayers Hurdle FAQs

Finding Tips For The Stayers hurdle

If you’re looking for our thoughts on who you should back in The Stayers hurdle take a look at our Day 3 Tips page to see everything, we’re backing for this race at the Cheltenham Festival.

You can also see all the latest odds for this race on our Stayers hurdle Odds page allowing you to see which bookmakers are offering the best price on each horse in the race.