Rachel Blackmore closes gap in Irish Jockeys Championship

Rachel Blackmore closes the gap in Irish Jockeys Championship

Rachael Blackmore continues to catch the eye as she climbs the ladder towards the summit of the Irish Jockeys Championship. She currently sits second on 48 winners for the season, which is just one behind current leader Paul Townend. She is 11 clear of last year's Grand National winning jockey Davy Russell, who is in third, and an extra six clear of Mark Walsh and Patrick Mullins.

Despite being early days in the season, Blackmore's progress has been magnificent, and has won her connections over £680,000 in prize money since the end of April. Contracted to Gigginstown House Stud, she rides several of Gordon Elliott's and Henry de Bromhead's leading stable stars every week at some of the biggest meetings. Blackmore has ridden over 300 times this season already, with over a third of them finishing in the places.

This is no fluke, as Blackmore is clearly one of the best upcoming young jockeys in the game. However, she also flies the flag for the female category, and is one of a number of young talented female jockeys certainly making a stamp on the sport.

Lizzie Kelly and Bryony Frost are two of the standout British female jump jockeys who both have Grade 1 wins to their name. In the 2016/17 season Rachael Blackmore became the first female jockey to win the Irish Conditional Jockeys title, and will be hoping that her first Grade 1 success isn't too far away.

She will get another opportunity this weekend in the JNwine.com Champion Chase which features many Gigginstown Horses. Should they all be declared, Blackmore will surely feature alongside regular yard colleagues Davy Russell and Jack Kennedy for a chance to take this valuable prize.

With Katie Walsh and Nina Carberry having both retired this year, Blackmore is certainly filling their boots and flying the flag high for the ladies in Ireland.


1. Paul Townend - 49 wins - 191 Runs

2. Rachael Blackmore - 48 wins - 305 Runs

3. Davy Russell - 37 wins - 202 Runs

4 = Mark Walsh - 31 wins - 212 Runs

4 = Patrick Mullins - 31 wins - 89 Runs