Cheltenham Gold Cup Race Card

Boodles Cheltenham Gold Cup Chase Runners And Entries 2023

Below you will find the runners & entries for the Boodles Cheltenham Gold Cup Chase for this year's Cheltenham Festival.

As a reminder, this is a full list of entries, but there are further declarations 5 days before the race, and final declarations 48 hours before.

Boodles Cheltenham Gold Cup Chase (Grade 1) (GBB Race)

Paul Townend

Galopin Des Champs

Age: 7
Weight: 11.7
OR: 173
Paul Townend
W P Mullins
held up in rear, not fluent 5th, headway 16th, in touch with leaders 17th, mistake 3 out, going easily when switched right before 2 out, soon went second, led last, ridden and kept on strongly run-in, won going away
Harry Cobden


Age: 8
Weight: 11.7
OR: 172
Harry Cobden
Paul Nicholls
keen to post, prominent, ridden to lead 2 out, headed last, weakened final 110yds
Sam Ewing


Age: 9
Weight: 11.7
OR: 168
Sam Ewing
Gordon Elliott
in touch with leaders, slightly hampered and left in fourth 17th, ridden and not clear run just before 2 out, hung left and outpaced but went third approaching last, weakened run-in
Sean Bowen

Noble Yeats

Age: 8
Weight: 11.7
OR: 167
Sean Bowen
Emmet Mullins
prominent, lost position 9th, not fluent 10th, dropped to rear and pushed along 15th, behind when ridden 4 out, stayed on from 2 out, went fourth towards finish

Cheltenham Gold Cup Tips

This is where all of our tips will be for the Cheltenham Gold Cup , we also have you covered with daily tips.

Sorry, no tips are available today!
Sorry, no tips are available today!

Fourth race of Gold Cup Day

The Cheltenham Gold Cup is the feature race of not only the Cheltenham Festival but the biggest race of the national hunt season which means the race is often referred to as the Blue Riband of national hunt racing.

The prestigious race is seen as the ultimate chasing test for national hunt horse, ran on the new Cheltenham course over 3 miles and 2 furlongs. There are 22 fences to overcome for the runners and the race is open to horses five and older.

There is prize money of £351,000 on offer to the winner, which is the second to only the Grand National in terms of money to the winners.

History of the Cheltenham Gold Cup

The Cheltenham Gold Cup first was ran in 1819, amazingly as a flat race over three miles, at a course that overlooks Prestbury Park and it wasn’t until 1924, that the race was ran over jumps.

When it was first added to the Festival, it was not seen as the feature race at all, overshadowed by National Hunt Chase and it had poor prize money, with even races such as the County Handicap Hurdle being more lucrative.

The 1930’s saw the races’ most successful horse, Golden Miller who won the race five times back to back from 1932 to 1936 and went on to Grand National glory.

The Gold Cup’s profile really was raised following the Second World War when Cottage Rake won the race three times from 1948 to 1950 for Vincent O’Brien and really bought the race up in prestige.

The great Arkle was also a winner three years in a row during the 1960’s, including going off at 1/10 for his third victory, the shortest price to date. Another landmark was in 1983, when trainer Michael Dickinson trained the first five home.

1990 saw victory for 100/1 shot Norton’s Coin, the longest ever priced winner of the race whilst in 2009 Kauto Star became the first ever horse to retain the Gold Cup after winning it 2007.

Recent years

Al Boum Photo was the 2019 winner for Paul Townend and Willie Mullins. His victory gave Mullins a long-awaited victory in the race.

Unlike the beginnings of the race, where there was dominance from certain horses and trainers, the Gold Cup now is often seen as hard race to win successively such as the demands.

Despite that, it would be argued that the English do edge the Irish in the race in more recent times, with a dominance from Paul Nichols, who won the race three years running from 2007 to 2009 and Nicky Henderson who took the race in 2011 and 2013 although the Irish have won three of the last four running’s.

In 2020, it’ll definitely be worth noting anything that is fielded from Henderson and Nicholls such is there record with staying chasers but Willie Mullins’ first win the race perhaps could spearhead a long-waited dominance on the race and all of his runners will command respect.

Cheltenham Gold Cup Winners

Year Winner SP Trainer
2022 A Plus Tard 3/1 Henry de Bromhead
2021 Minella Indo 9/1 Henry de Bromhead
2020 Al Boum Photo 10/3 Willie Mullins
2019 Al Boum Photo 12/1 Willie Mullins
2018 Native River 5/1 Colin Tizzard
2017 Sizing John 7/1 Jessica Harrington
2016 Don Cossack 9/4 Gordon Elliott
2015 Coneygree 7/1 Mark Bradstock
2014 Lord Windermere 20/1 Jim Culloty
2013 Bobs Worth 11/4 Nicky Henderson

Cheltenham Gold Cup FAQs

Finding Tips For The Cheltenham Gold Cup

If you’re looking for our thoughts on who you should back in The Cheltenham Gold Cup take a look at our Day 4 Tips page to see everything, we’re backing for this race at the Cheltenham Festival.

You can also see all the latest odds for this race on our Cheltenham Gold Cup Odds page allowing you to see which bookmakers are offering the best price on each horse in the race.